top of page

Disney Animation Exhibition in Seoul

There is a special exhibition of Disney Animation in Seoul now. I'm not a super fan of Disney but I went there with my friends as a girls' hang out event.

It's not cheap but there are some tips which help you to save very small amount of money. If you buy tickets in advance, you will get some discount. Furthermore, if you are a member of Korean air, you and another person can get some discount.


It's held in DDP. You can reach the place by subway. Dongdaemun History and Culture Park subway station has 3 subway lines, line 2, line 4 and line 5. It's placed in the center of Seoul so it's quite easy to approach there.


I haven't watched all Disney animations. Some of them were made even before I was born. I haven't been interested in princesses, especially foreign princesses. I enjoyed some of Disney animations though like Toy Story series, Lion King, Frozen, etc..

Even a person like me who isn't a big fan of Disney could enjoy the exhibition though. Because Disney animations are generally so popular, even I haven't watched the animation but I still know the titles and what they are about.


What interested to me was various skills for making animation. I even hadn't thought abut how the animations were created before. There were bunch of technologies used to create animations though. It's quite interesting to follow the story.


It's not only boring technical description but also real models which were used to make animations. If I have those cool 3D models, I would paint them gladly.

It's not only about drawings. Musics also matter. There are explanations about how to create back ground musics and sound effects.


I didn't know so many manpower is needed to create animations. Even with the latest technologies, there are parts which can't be replaced by machines. It's quite creative but also patience needed process.


At the end of the exhibition, there was a video about people working in Disney corporation. They were giving testimony of Disney's greatness and how they are happy working in the company. Me and my friends were just watching it and all agreed the video looks like a religious testimony. People are saying working in Disney was there life time goal and they are so happy that finally they got hired there.


I I would not go there alone by myself but if you are a Disney fan or have a particular Disney animation you like, this exhibition is quite recommendable. I didn't get impressed that much because I'm not a big fan. I'm quite sure if any Disney fans go there, they will have a good time.


Ah, as always, there is a souvenir section. Expensive but tempting to collectors.


6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page